LA Sugar Blitz

In late February I traveled to Los Angeles, in part to start new project about the obesity epidemic. I placed 100 sugar skulls in public places across the city in the hope that those who find them will come here and learn more about the ideas behind the art.  In the following posts you’ll find photos of where you can find the skulls in LA as well as current articles pouring out on sugar. I would love to hear your feedback as this is Phase One of a huge, multi-year project that will take place on the street, in galleries and museums. Thanks for reading!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

6 thoughts on “LA Sugar Blitz

  1. This project is very important socially . . . I love that you are getting the message out in the streets and not just making commentary on gallery walls. Kudos!

  2. What a statement!! LOVE it! If it wasn’t dark now, I’d be taking to the streets to find one of the skulls.

    • What fun! If you don’t find one and want one, let me know and I’ll mail you two — one to keep and one to leave on the street! I’m planning on coming back to LA and doing the project in a much bigger way too. Maybe you can participate!

      • I am a friend of Sher Fick. I actually participated in one of your projects in Nashville when I came to visit with Bea Jurgensen…many moons ago. It was the project with all the pins. Let me know when you’re back in the L.A. area. If time permits, It would be lots of fun to participate. I love the statement of skulls made out of sugar. I was one of those neurotic mothers who refused to give my child sugar when he was young. Turns out it was probably one of the best choices I ever made…at 30+ years old now, he has no cavities, never drinks soda, is not overweight and makes dessert just an occasional celebration choice.

  3. Excellent work! I want to participate when you travel to NYC. Let me know…

    Your fellow artist,

    John Asbury

Leave a Reply

